Mai Tai

The Kitchn, which is among my favorite food blogs has an excellent feature each week by Dana Velde known as Weekend Meditation. This week she explains why she’s been writing this feature for 5 years now:

“Cooking for ourselves and our loved ones is a very practical matter. It simply must be done…But when I sit down to write the Weekend Meditation post, I’m thinking about something a little different than the mechanical side of cooking….   I think about the internal aspects that we engage when we cook and prep and clean up, and what are their emotional, psychological, and spiritual expressions. What sustains us to return to the kitchen, over and over again? My hope is to encourage us to see cooking not just as a daily chore but also as a place to discover more about ourselves, to open our senses, to express our love and connection…. The kitchen is a place that we can open up and let in the beauty and lushness that is present in life. There’s so much there to smell and taste and feel.”

This perfectly captures my feelings when I came back to the States from India this month. Though I’m going to miss the smells and taste of different varieties of mangoes and savory street food, I feel equally excited to be cooking again with basil, berries, avocados and meyer lemons. To celebrate these tastes and smells of summer that I missed out in the first half of my summer in India, I decided that mai tai was a perfect drink to go with some evening relaxation. Though there are wide disagreements about the kind of sweeteners and/or juices that should go in this drink, I decided to go with the following recipe and did not regret it at all. Perfect summer cooler.

Mai Tai

Ingredients

Recipe courtesy AllRecipes

  • 1.5 fluid ounce rum
  • 1.5 fluid ounce coconut-flavored rum
  • 1 teaspoon grenadine syrup
  • 3 fluid ounces pineapple juice
  • 2 fluid ounces orange juice
  • 1 cup ice cubes

Directions
In a cocktail mixer full of ice, combine the spiced rum, coconut rum, grenadine, pineapple juice and orange juice. Shake vigorously and strain into glass full of ice.

What are you favorite summer coolers ?

Leave a Reply

