Eggnog

My favorite thing about making food resolutions is that those are actually things that I end up completing/accomplishing (as opposed to any ahem, fitness-related resolutions). My last year’s food resolutions was learning how to make a souffle and a creme brulee and my new year’s food resolution recipes include learning how to flambé (yay bananas foster!), how to make paella (but without the shrimp because I really dislike shrimp), and finally, making my own infused liquors. I also got a tart pan over Christmas, so I guess I’ll be making more tarts this year as well – the one tart I’ve been dying to try out is a lemon curd tart. Of course I’d love to have really amazing chopping skills as well, but I don’t really envision myself spending hours perfecting those! What are some of your food /cooking/baking resolutions for this year?

In the meanwhile, here’s a recipe for eggnog in case you still have a little bit of holiday spirit left in you, or are procrastinating on your fitness-related resolutions, haha. This recipe is on the stronger side, so if you want to dilute the strong flavor, I’d recommend putting in a little less of the bourbon or a little more of the cream and milk. We made it over Christmas and it makes 8-10 servings. Definitely try this out because it takes 5-7 minutes to whip this up and it tastes much, much better than the store-bought version.

eggnog

Ingredients

  • 1 pint cream
  • 1 pint whole milk (if you only have low-fat milk, then use a little bit more of the cream)
  • 6 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 oz rum
  • 1 cup bourbon
  • grated nutmeg

Directions

  • Separate the egg yolks from the whites.
  • Beat the yolks separately and then mix 1/2 cup sugar into them.
  • Beat the whites separately and mix 1/4 cup sugar into this whipped whites. The whites should be whipped until they achieve soft to medium peaks. (What does it mean for egg whites to have soft peaks?)
  • Mix the whites mixture and the yolks mixture together.
  • Stir in the other ingredients except for the nutmeg.
  • Sprinkle the nutmeg on the top and serve cold.

Eggnog

Finally, I read one resolution in Huffington Post that is absolutely fitting for me – Cook at least one recipe from all the cookbooks we “collect” and never use. Seems like a great resolution for me, especially after collecting books from Anne Burrell, Ina Garten and Aaron Sanchez (yes, I’m a huge Food Network Fan!). What’s the point of collecting cookbooks by such great chefs if you never try their recipes? Happy new year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

