Biweekly Food News Roundup

Every now and then I come across some exciting news in the food world that I want to share with people – so I’ve decided to synthesize this and start a bi-monthly/fortnightly round-up of some of the most interesting food news, unusual recipes, and food-related research that I’ve read in the last couple of weeks. Hope you all like it!

PepsiCo announced that Diet Pepsi will no longer contain aspartame starting in August, after consumer surveys found great concern about its negative effects. This is despite the fact that many studies have largely dismissed the link between aspartame and cancer, but like the relationship between economic development and democratization, the jury is still out on the various mechanisms that link aspartame and weight gain. Given the obsession with diet sodas among my academic colleagues, I would not have guessed that sales of low calories drinks have actually dropped 20% in the last 5 years.

James Beard announces its 2015 Book, Broadcast and Journalism Awards and one of my favorite food blogs, The Kitchn, won in the General Cookbook category! I can’t wait to get my hands on this book, or wait until someone gifts it to me from my wedding registry 🙂

Have you ever wondered what The White House kitchen looks like? Now get a sneak peek, courtesy of Apartment Therapy. I’m very delighted to discover that I, too, own the same rice cooker as the Obamas! Next step – to obtain a red/maroon stand mixer.

Even though 30% of Americans are trying to be on a gluten-free diet, only 1% actually have Celiac disease. An economist at Yale explains the gluten-free bubble that we’re currently in the midst of, with higher prices leading to higher demand.

Finally, a thought-provoking piece on the relationship between the accessibility of healthy food and structural inequalities in society, and Whole Food’s inability to address these issues in Detroit.

Leave a Reply

